The building that holds the Historic House Museum is located in the house Julián Gayarre had built in 1879 on the site of the one where he had been born. His family had permanently lived in the building whereas Gayarre spent his holidays there.
The house has a square floor plan with three stories and an attic. It is finished with a hip roof and the inside has been adapted for the new purpose.
The facade features a bronze plaque made by Roncal-born sculptor Fructuoso Orduna dedicated to the tenor by the town of Roncal to thank him for this continuous generosity.
Ground floor: Gayarre is presented as known at the time through panels that draw a parallel between his life and the most outstanding events that occurred in Spain and abroad.
The tenor’s life is displayed chronologically through documents, photographs, awards, appointments, librettos, scores and gifts, all placed in four large display cases.
On the same floor, visitors can observe a series of unique objects that Julián Gayarre acquired during his travels (a snooker table, a bike, a buggy).
First floor: There are several display cases on the first floor exhibiting costumes and accessories (shoes, gloves, swords, hairpieces) that Gayarre used for his performances as well as presents he was given throughout his career.
One extra-long display case holds letters, photographs, press articles and other documents from the Foundation’s extensive collection.
Second floor: The tenor’s bedroom has been conserved with a portrait of his father and an illustration of the Cathedral of Milan exactly as once decorated according to written testimonies along with a room with his piano and other objects that once belonged to him. Gayarre’s larynx is also exhibited on this floor.
Throughout the house are portraits of Gayarre and his family members.
The facade was affixed with a bronze plaque made by Roncal-born sculptor Fructuoso Orduna dedicated to the tenor by the town of Roncal which had been on the receiving end of Gayarre’s continuous generosity.